September 2014 Violet Box Review

September 30th, 2014

I have received my September Violet Box on 26th September. From the various beauty boxes I receive every month, Violet Box is one of the prettiest boxes. The packaging is top notch. The pull type (if that’s what you call it) cardboard box is very sturdy and can be reused for many other purposes. The products are wrapped with a violet tissue paper and come nested in some violet shredded paper.

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

The September box has blown me away with the selection of products and the value for money. I have received 5 products in this box, and they are ALL full sized products. All of them are of great quality, from reputable brands and very useful. I have found a couple of products that I have instantly fallen in love with. I am so over the sample sachets that beauty boxes send month in and out. It is refreshing to see that Violet Box sends decent sized products that one could use over time and form an opinion of them. This box is surely a winner.

 

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

About Violet Box

  • Violet Box is the best way to discover new grooming, beauty and lifestyle products. Sample top products from high-end brands, get expert advice, buy new favourites and earn points with every purchase.
  • When you are ready for more of the products you sampled, you can purchase full-size versions directly from the Violet Box Shop. We have a generous loyalty program that rewards you every time you shop, refer friends, and give feedback on your monthly samples. You can redeem Violet Box Points and save on any full-size or gift purchase.

 

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

Below are my first impressions on the products I have received this month:

 

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box | The Beauty Mantra

Scandalous Fabulously Flirty Dry Shampoo – FULL SIZE ($17.95 for 150ml)

Product Description: A must have for the morning after! The corn starch formula soaks up excess oil, giving a just washed look and feel. It effectively cleanses the scalp, leaving three day old hair looking fresh and shiny.

The Beauty Mantra Opinion: I have never used this brand before, but the description sounds pretty interesting. Dry shampoos are very handy for us girls who are either busy or lazy or both 😉 I am yet to find the perfect one for me though as usually dry shampoos leave my scalp oilier than what I started with or the hair feeling dry. I am hoping this one finds the perfect balance.

 

September 2014 Violet Box - Scandalous Fabulously Flirty Dry Shampoo  | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Scandalous Fabulously Flirty Dry Shampoo | The Beauty Mantra

Foltène Nail Treatment – FULL SIZE ($29.95 for 10ml)

Product Description: The nail treatment repairs dry, brittle dull nails that easily break, for stronger, longer fingernails. Can be used over nail polish.

The Beauty Mantra Opinion: Oh my!! I so need this one! My nails are very brittle and break very easily. That’s the reason I don’t grow my nails long, or go for fake nails whenever I feel like long nails. I did hear good things about this one and am keen to try it myself.

 

September 2014 Violet Box - Foltène Nail Treatment | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Foltène Nail Treatment | The Beauty Mantra

Girlactik Eyeshadow – FULL SIZE ($23)

Product Description: Play up your eyes to look smokey, earthy, innocent, or bronzed with these matte and pearl pigmented shadows. The colours blend and work together and can be easily applied wet or dry.

The Beauty Mantra Opinion: I have not heard of this brand either, but the packaging is so petty! The shade I got is a baby pink colour called ‘Pink Ruffle’. The pigmentation is amazing and I am impressed already. It gives a pinky – pearlescent finish and can be even used to highlight brow bone or cheek bones. Can’t wait to road test it for staying power!

 

September 2014 Violet Box - Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box - Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box - Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Girlactik Eyeshadow Pink Ruffle | The Beauty Mantra

Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil – FULL SIZE ($21.50)

Product Description: Starlooks’ Ultra Gem Eye Pencils are created with a magnificent sparkle finish and are so versatile, soft, and creamy that they can be easily used as liners as well as eye bases! Each highly pigmented, extra long wear, unique pencil has a gorgeous, micro-glitter finish.

The Beauty Mantra Opinion: This product is so deceptive. When I first looked at it, it looked like one of those pencils that are dry, hard and tug eye lids when applying. I was so wrong!! This pencil is soooo creamy! The colour is a nice glittery olive green shade. This eye pencil is my favourite from this box, and in fact – a favourite from many other boxes 😛

 

September 2014 Violet Box - Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box - Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box - Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Starlooks Ultra Olive Gem Pencil| The Beauty Mantra

Polished London Nail Enamel – FULL SIZE ($8)

Product Description: Polished Nail Enamel is formulated to provide strong film that offers greater gloss, extended wear and maximum protection to the nail. With smooth application and a fast-setting formula, the nail polish is also chip resistant.

The Mantra Opinion: I have heard of Polished Nail Polishes before but never used one myself. So I am excited about using my first one. This shade is perfect for spring and summer – a blue called Big Ben.

 

September 2014 Violet Box - Polished London Nail Enamel Big Ben| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Polished London Nail Enamel Big Ben| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box - Polished London Nail Enamel Big Ben| The Beauty Mantra

September 2014 Violet Box – Polished London Nail Enamel Big Ben| The Beauty Mantra

 

Hope you liked the review. If you would like to stay updated with reviews on other similar products, like the Facebook page (Click like in the sidebar) or follow me on Instagram (@divyapasupuleti) or both!! Enjoy reading!

*This product was provided for consideration. However, the opinion is honest and unbiased.

Leave a Reply


5 + = eight