March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box Review

April 15th, 2014

This edition of Her Fashion Box is special, for both the HFB team and its loyal fan base, as it marks the completion of one year by the company. The first year milestone is special for anyone and I wish the wonderful team at Her Fashion Box a hearty ‘Congratulations’! It is not an easy job to satisfy all the customers with the subscription boxes, and HFB team do a great job balancing the tastes and wishes of their customers. While I have been subscribed for only a few months now, I have never had the urge to cancel subscription and that in itself is a big deal!

The Birthday Special March box, with the anticipation running high, arrived late at my doorstep. Really, really late! I received my box around mid-April and I understand that the delay has been due to a Customs related issue.  I am not really fussed about the dates of delivery as long as I receive a box full of (pleasant) surprises on a monthly basis.

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box | The Beauty Mantra

I, quite naturally, had high expectations from this box as it is their Birthday Special and I must note that I have not been blown away. Don’t get me wrong – it is a great box and offers awesome value for money. But so are their other monthly boxes. There was nothing special about this one box – other than the lollies (do they count?!).

A brief idea about the box if you suddenly woke up and realised everyone else is subscribed to a beauty box! –
Essentially, it is a monthly subscription box that offers trendy fashion accessories, beauty and lifestyle deluxe samples and a copy of the Her Fashion Magazine – all over $110 worth for $39.95 per month. 

For details on my previous boxes, please refer to my posts below:

January 2014 HFB Feminine Box

February2014 HFB Feminine Box

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box | The Beauty Mantra

 

 The Beauty Mantra Opinion:

I was really glad the box finally landed on my doorstep as I was literally dying with anticipation. I couldn’t wait to see the Birthday Special Box. The magazine looks amazing and I like their artwork in this edition. And I have another special reason to love the magazine – my Instagram photos have been featured not once but thrice!!! Special love to you HFB for that!! (Yes, I am biased in showing love– ever so slightly!!) But, me being influenced ends just right there.  Now starts my crudely honest opinion of the box.

 

 

These are the products that I received in the March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box:

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box| The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box| The Beauty Mantra

Her Fashion Box Magazine:

This little booklet had details of all the products featured in this month’s box. Do not forget to check out my 3 x Instapics!!

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box Magazine| The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box Magazine| The Beauty Mantra

A Hair band with Aztec print:

Everyone subscriber who fills their survey gets one. So if you are subscribed, do fill their survey to receive a special item in the box that others do not get.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Aztec Hairband | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Aztec Hairband | The Beauty Mantra

Pink Her Fashion Box Pumice Stone ($7.95)

To me pumice stone is quite medieval. I am totally into electronic gadgets for home pedicure. But this one is really cute and would make nice gift box fillers for someone special. And they are pink! Who will not like that? (Okay, I mean which GIRL wouldn’t like that?!)

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Pink Pumice Stone | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Pink Pumice Stone | The Beauty Mantra

Her Fashion Box Solar Scarf ($32.95)

The accessories this month have been inspired by ‘Cosmic Love’ and ‘Black Magic Woman’. I absolutely love this scarf. The colours are deep and the print is celestial. I am getting a full use of the scarf from one of the previous boxes, and I find the quality to be really good. I am sure this scarf will be worked into my winter wardrobe quite easily and will add that extra style factor to any outfit.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Solar Scarf  | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Solar Scarf | The Beauty Mantra

Her Fashion Box Shoot For The Stars Necklace ($29.95)

Another favourite from this box. Chain weave for necklaces is really in, and this necklace incorporates that with a feminine twist. The black chain works well with the while, opal and crystal like stones. I like it as the black and white colours can keep the look simple yet chic.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Shoot For The Stars Necklace  | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Shoot For The Stars Necklace | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Shoot For The Stars Necklace  | The Beauty Mantra

Her Fashion Box Spell It Out Ring ($12.95)

The blue of this ring is one my favourites! However, I cannot carry silver jewellery that well as I am warm skin toned. The ring can be used to add a pop of colour to the otherwise boring colours of winter (I am speaking to you, grey).

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Spell It Out Ring | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Spell It Out Ring | The Beauty Mantra

Le Tan Fast Tan Bronze ‘Le Tan in Le Can’ 45g ($6.99)

Naw! Yet another tanning product. I am medium-dark skin toned girl, and there is only so much darker I can end up looking. I am happy with my naturally tanned skin. This will go to my ‘Giveaway’ box. If you want this, please leave a comment below.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Le Tan Fast Tan Bronze ‘Le Tan in Le Can’  | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Le Tan Fast Tan Bronze ‘Le Tan in Le Can’ | The Beauty Mantra

Designer Brands Outrageous Volume Mascara ($24.95)

I have never used products from Designer Brands before, and I think it is good to give this brand a go. My initial thoughts are that it looks like Rimmel’s Scandal Eyes or even Maybelline’s Collossal Volume Mascara. The brush wand is a pretty standard one and the formula is creamy. I have used it on my lashes to try it out and my first impression is pretty positive. Well, need to put this one through my rigorous road-testing regime for a complete review.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Designer Brands Outrageous Volume Mascara   | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Designer Brands Outrageous Volume Mascara | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Designer Brands Outrageous Volume Mascara   | The Beauty Mantra

Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’ ($3.50)

Okay, how much of a resemblance does this one have to the Revlon Colour Burst Lip Butters?!! Answer is – they are pretty much identical in packaging. Revlon one is a bit smaller in size and the packaging is of a better quality. The Colour by TBN Lipstick comes at a fraction of the price. I found the lipstick to be creamy and well pigmented. So far, so good.

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’    | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’ | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’    | The Beauty Mantra

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’    | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Colour by TBN Lipstick in ‘I don’t kiss and tell’ | The Beauty Mantra

Argania Hair Oil Light 5ml ($5.99)

I am a sucker for hair oils! I love them. Nothing beats hair oil for conditioning hair, especially if you have long tresses like mine. I have not heard of this brand before but it smells amazing. The vanilla fragranced morocco argan oil is very light in weight and gets absorbed into hair easily. It is made for light coloured and fine hair, and is perfect for the travel bag. Argan oil, which is rich in essential fatty acids and antioxidants, is the cure for split ends and dryness. While my hair is not light in colour, I don’t see why I cannot use it. In fact, I have some in my hair as I type this review. Did I mention I love hair oils?!

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Argania Hair Oil Light | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Argania Hair Oil Light | The Beauty Mantra

Her Fashion Box Party Mix Lollies

Now, this is just not fair! It’s like HFB team knows what makes our heart, and tummies, melt and played that exact card to get some brownie points!! LOL! This lolly bag is a bonus in the box. Why, you ask? I say – no birthday special is complete without some sugar!!

 

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box - Party Mix Lollies | The Beauty Mantra

March 2014 Feminine Her Fashion Box – Party Mix Lollies | The Beauty Mantra

 Hope you liked the review. If you would like to stay updated with reviews on other similar products, like the Facebook page (Click like in the sidebar). Enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply


nine − 3 =